百日咳的Keyworth研究

1974呈现

在这里,我描述了始于1974年并且至今仍在继续的研究。

完整的故事现在可以作为书'Outbreak in the Village.村庄爆发。 A Family Doctor's Lifetime Study of Whooping Cough百日咳的家庭医生终生研究'。 published by Springer Nature on 3rd September 2020.由Springer Nature于XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日发布。

该网站上的某些信息是基于我在Keyworth从事家庭医生40多年所做的百日咳研究。 许多材料已在医学期刊上发表。 有些是未发表的,有些是我基于经验的看法。 我相信这是一项独特的研究,我将为理解这种令人不快且有时致命的疾病做出贡献。

我希望向公众公开我的数据,以便他们自己判断其价值。 此页面概述了主要发现。

Keyworth是英格兰东米德兰兹郡诺丁汉以南约5英里处的一个村庄。 它的人口为8,000。 附近有几个较小的村庄,总共约有11,000个社区,这些村庄全部由在一个医疗中心工作的8位家庭医生照顾(30年前有11,800名患者和4位医生)。

我从1974年开始在Keyworth保健中心工作,那时我是中小学三年级的合伙人,而在中部非洲工作了3年之后,我回到了那里。 自1977年以来,我对这少数人群(744例)的百日咳作了专门研究。 我已经具备识别大多数其他医生可能错过的病例的能力,这仅仅是因为我对这种疾病的浓厚兴趣,并且一直在寻找这种疾病。 由于英格兰的医疗保健组织方式单一,病历单一且患者仅在一个医疗中心进行注册,因此我有可能确信自己在Keyworth百日咳中观察到的内容尽可能完整,准确且最重要的是,始终如一。

我于2011年从合作伙伴关系中退休,但能够可靠地追踪发病率,直到2013年底。此后就不可能继续进行之前的彻底研究,因此研究正式结束了,但是医生在实践中继续对它进行有力的诊断,并且所记录的数字像以前一样继续确定当前的疾病模式。

继续以相同的方式变得越来越重要,因为血清学诊断已成为强制性方法,因为英国公共卫生局(以前的卫生防护局)现在使用实验室确诊的病例作为其统计基线。 由于受害者的年龄已攀升至成年年龄,因此进行血液检查的难易程度也随之增加。 血液检测仅在2002年在英国开始提供,并且自2006年以来才被广泛使用。现在,成年受害者通过互联网(尤其是以前的网站)对检测的需求日益熟悉,并提高了认识和自我诊断的能力。导致已确认的可疑案件和正在执行的检测数量的比例大幅增加。 以前,根本不会对它们进行检查,也不会通过难以安排且不舒服的鼻拭子进行检查,而且通常由于病情太迟而呈阴性。 因此,几乎不会通知他们。

因为我们只是普通的医疗实践,所以我在Keyworth中观察到的情况也可能代表了英国其他地区的情况。 它也可能与其他具有类似免疫接种做法的发达国家(例如:美国,加拿大,澳大利亚,新西兰和欧盟国家)发生的情况非常相似。

我得出了什么结论?
百日咳在很大程度上已经被忽略和遗忘了半个世纪或更长时间,因为免疫已经成功地减少了该病的发病率。 但是,它并没有完全消失,人们现在意识到它仍在继续并造成很多麻烦。 有人认为它正在卷土重来。 如果Keyworth数据正确,是否为真值得怀疑。 他们似乎表明,百日咳引起的麻烦数量在30年中几乎相同,尽管它袭击的人群的年龄有一些相当有趣的变化。

为什么这是相关的?
媒体上目前正在讨论百日咳卷土重来,特别是在成年人中。 我认为其中大部分是显而易见的,而不是真实的。 最近的研究表明,许多持续咳嗽的成年人确实有百日咳。 如果Keyworth研究具有代表性,这不是新信息。 寻找它是新的。 Keyworth的数据显示,自1986年以来,成人的发病率一直保持稳定,而其他人群的发病率却有所下降。

自从1950年代开始免疫接种以来,医生看到的百日咳越来越少,现代医生可能从未见过这种情况,更不用说听到咳嗽了。 我相信,通知数量的下降只是在反映现代医生对百日咳的诊断能力较差。 现在,有些人正在使用更复杂的测试(例如PCR,血液抗体和最近的口服液体抗体测试)来寻找它,但他们发现了它,但是通知仍然很少,因为普通医生仍然不愿意诊断它。 然而,这种变化是显而易见的 再手术e 在2011-12年度左右的美国,澳大利亚和英国,这些国家/地区的通知数量有所增加,但此后仅下降了一点。 在我看来,大部分原因是由于人们对这种疫苗的认可度提高了,但其中某些原因可能是由于脱细胞疫苗的性能较千年前开始使用的老式疫苗差。

现在有一个新的因素在起作用,它可能会进一步扩大发达国家的百日咳统计数据。 那就是使用PCR进行初步诊断的实践。 不管它是否发展为临床百日咳,该试验在感染的早期都是阳性的。 为了更好地控制感染(例如,使用预防性抗生素),对索引病例的接触者进行早期而明智的测试,将发现以前从未怀疑过的感染。

现在,有便宜的PCR百日咳杆菌可进行的即时检验。

如果要准确解释记录的数字,则需要与百日咳博德特氏菌感染分开记录临床百日咳。

可根据电子邮件要求提供来自Keyworth研究的原始数据(匿名)以及表格和图表,以便医护人员,流行病学家和有兴趣的其他人可以研究详细信息。

1977年至2018年百日咳通知英国和威尔士的图表
每100,000万人中百日咳通知的图表。 英格兰和威尔士(棕色)和基沃斯(蓝色)1977至2018
百日咳通知英格兰和威尔士1940年至2018年
1940年至2018年英格兰和威尔士的百日咳通知

1952年至1957年间,免疫接种在英国引入。

在1974年至1994年之间,英格兰和威尔士的免疫接受率降至31%,然后缓慢上升。 这是对疫苗介导的脑损伤的“恐慌”结果,结果被证明是错误的。

每100,000个人口Keyworth与英国和威尔士的通知比率的直方图
100,000年至1977年每2018万人口Keyworth与英格兰和威尔士的百日咳通知率的直方图

此直方图是最有力的证据,表明医生在XNUMX年代中期停止诊断百日咳,然后在XNUMX年代中期再次开始。

我在2000年代末才认识到这种诊断失败的原因,于XNUMX年启动了该网站,以帮助人们进行自我诊断。

我收到的信件随后证实了我的怀疑,这不仅在英国,而且在美国,加拿大和澳大利亚,可能还有许多其他国家,都是一个问题。

多年来,这是唯一带有声音文件的网站,可让患者识别自己的病情,我相信该网站为疾病的重新认识做出了重要贡献。

如今,有许多优秀的网站向人们介绍这种疾病。

从数量上讲,大多数访问者现在还是仍然来自美国。

我发表的有关百日咳的著作包括以下简要概述的最相关论文

一般情况下百日咳暴发。 詹金森D. 英国医学杂志1978; 277:896。

在1977-8年,Keyworth诊所发生了191例百日咳病例(当时为11,800例)。 当时正是由于担心疫苗安全性而导致全国免疫率急剧下降的时候。 人们普遍对该疫苗的有效性持怀疑态度。 126岁以下的人群为84例。 由于已知受影响和不受影响的数字,因此可以计算出疫苗保护率。 如果排除那些太年轻而无法免疫的人,则为XNUMX%。 这是几十年来的首例此类信息,并很快在其他研究中得到证实。 这是一个可喜的消息,并帮助决定继续推荐该疫苗,并将其作为国家计划的一部分。


百日咳:在流行病中被告知的病例比例是多少? 詹金森D. 英国医学杂志1983; 287:185-6。

在1982-1982年的英格兰和威尔士流行病中,3年620月的疫情通报数量最多,当时百日咳由于免疫率低而再次流行。 一项邮政调查询问了诺丁汉的所有家庭医生,他们在116月份见过多少例百日咳。 将数字(18.7)与通知的数字(83.6)进行比较。 这是5%。 回应率为XNUMX%。 结论是,即使在高度了解疾病的时候,确诊的实际病例数也可能至少是通报病例数的XNUMX倍。 人们可能会认为,在意识不足的时候,该比率会更高(例如现在)。

在百日咳小发作期间寻找亚临床感染:对临床诊断的意义。 Jenkinson D,Pepper JD。 皇家全科医师学院学报1986; 36:547-8。


1985年在Keyworth爆发时,我们从所有疑似百日咳病例及其与任何咳嗽的接触中取出了鼻拭子。 共拍摄102张。 在所有这些中,有39例被临床诊断为百日咳,其中17例拭子阳性。 没有临床百日咳的患者无拭子阳性。 我们得出结论,没有证据表明存在大量的亚临床感染。 我们还询问了百日咳患者的卡他性症状。 只有三分之一具有卡他性症状。

百日咳疫苗有效期的持续时间:十年社区研究的证据。 詹金森D. 英国医学杂志1988; 296:612-4。

我能够以一种可以计算出不同年龄百日咳疫苗的有效性的方式分析我十年来的病例。 根据10例326至1岁儿童的结果,得出以下结果。 7岁儿童1%,100岁儿童2%,96岁儿童3%,89岁儿童5%,52岁儿童6%和54岁儿童7%的保护。
评论
为计算做出了许多假设。 例如,假设搬进和搬出的人口遭受百日咳的方式与计算百日咳的方式相同。 还假设漏诊病例数少,免疫和未免疫受试者均相等。
该论文是Connor Farrington发表论文的主题,他在其中计算了可能的错误的大小。 他的论点并没有使我的研究结果无效。 他展示了从这样一个简单的模型计算出疫苗有效性的内在缺陷。 2002年,英国建议在学龄前加强免疫中接种第四剂百日咳疫苗,以提高免疫力。 这使英国与其他国家更加一致。

连续500例百日咳病例的自然病程:一般人群研究。 詹金森D. 英国医学杂志1995; 310,299,302-XNUMX。

阵发性发作的平均次数为每13.5小时24次。 免疫接种者11人,未免疫接种者15人。
平均持续时间为52天。 免疫接种者49人,未免疫接种者55人。 范围是2到164。
发作次数越多,疾病持续的时间越长。
患者越年轻,持续时间越长。
57%呕吐。 (免疫接种后占49%,未免疫接种后占65%)。
高达49%的人(其中39%处于免疫状态,56%处于未免疫状态)。
免疫接种后有11%的人明显停止呼吸(足以变成蓝色),未免疫接种的人有8%显着停止呼吸。
女性在儿童时期的患病率稍高一些,但成年时期的患病率是女性的两倍。
女性患病更为严重。
25%的免疫接种者和52%的未免疫接种者拭子均为阳性。
5例患者出现肺炎。

2年2020月XNUMX日点评

The Keyworth study of Whooping Cough

1974 to present

Here I describe the study that started in 1974 and still continues.

 

Some of the information on this website is based on the study of whooping cough that I have undertaken as a family doctor over 40 years in Keyworth. Much of the material has been published in medical journals. Some is unpublished, and some is my opinion based on experience. I believe this is a unique study and that I have a contribution to make to the understanding of this unpleasant and sometimes lethal disease.

I wish to make my data available to the public so they may judge its value for themselves. This page outlines the main findings. 

Keyworth is a village about 5 miles south of Nottingham in the East Midlands of England. It has a population of 8,000. There are several smaller nearby villages and all together make up a community of about 11,000, that all come under the care of 8 family doctors working from a single medical centre. 30 years ago there were 11,800 patients and 4 doctors)

I have worked at Keyworth Health Centre since 1974, when I started as the most junior partner after returning from 3 years in central Africa where my research interests developed. Since 1977 I have made a special study of whooping cough in this small population ( 744 cases).  I have developed the ability to recognise cases that most other doctors would miss, simply because of my intense interest in this disease and being on the lookout for it all the time. Because of the way healthcare is organized in England, with single medical records and patients registering with one medical centre only, it is possible for me to be confident that what I observe about whooping cough in Keyworth, is as complete as possible, accurate, and most of all, consistent. 

I retired from the partnership in 2011 but was able to reliably follow the incidence until 2013. Since then it has not been possible to continue the study with the previous thoroughness and therefore the study offiicially ended then, but the doctors in the practice continue to diagnose it competently and the numbers recorded continue to determine the current pattern of disease just as before. 

It has become even more important to continue in the same way because serological diagnosis has become mandatory as Public Health England (previously the Health Protection Agency) now uses laboratory confirmed cases for its statistical baseline. As the age of victims has climbed to an adult age, so the ease of getting a blood test increases. Blood tests have only been available since 2002 in the UK and only widely used since 2006. Increasing familiarity with the need for the test and increased awareness and self diagnosis by the now adult victims by means of the internet (and previously this site in particular), has led to a large rise in the proportion of suspected cases that are getting confirmed, and number of tests being done. Previously they would not have been tested at all, or by pernasal swab which is difficult to arrange and uncomfortable, as well as usually being negative because it was too late in the illness. So they would hardly ever be notified. 

Because we are just an average medical practice, what I have observed in Keyworth is also probably representative of what happens in the rest of the United Kingdom. It may also be quite similar to what happens in other developed countries with similar immunization practices (for example: USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the countries of the European Union).

What have I concluded?
Whooping cough has been to a great extent ignored and forgotten for half a century or more, because immunization has been so successful at reducing the number of cases of the disease. It did, however, not completely go away, and people are now realising that it is still about and causing quite a lot of trouble. Some people think it is making a comeback. It is doubtful if this is true if the Keyworth data are correct. They seem to indicate that the amount of trouble whooping cough has been causing has been much the same for 30 years, although there are some quite interesting changes in the ages of people it attacks.

Why is this relevant? 
There is currently discussion in the media about whooping cough making a comeback, particularly in adults. I think much of this is apparent rather than real. Recent research has shown that many adults with persistent coughs do indeed had whooping cough. This is not new information if the Keyworth study is representative. Looking for it is what is new. The Keyworth data show that the incidence in adults has remained constant since 1986, and it is the others that have fallen. 

Since immunization came in the 1950s, doctors have seen less and less whooping cough and modern doctors may never have seen a case, let alone heard the cough.  I believe that much of the drop in notifications  has simply been a reflection of the poorer diagnostic skills of modern doctors in respect to whooping cough. Now that some people are looking for it with more sophisticated tests such as PCR, blood antibody, and recently oral fluid antibody tests, they are finding it, but notifications are still low, as the average doctor is still reluctant to diagnose it. This changing however and an apparent resurgence in the USA, Australia and the UK in 2011-12 or thereabouts has raised the numbers notified in these countries, and the numbers have only dropped a little since then. Most of this is in my view due to increased recognition but some of it may be due to acellular vaccine performing poorly compared with the older one which came into use around the millennium.

There is a a new factor operating now that is likely to further inflate the pertussis statistics in developed countries. That is the practice of using PCR for primary diagnosis. This test is positive in the early stages of infection irrespective of whether it develops into clinical whooping cough.  Early and sensible testing of contacts of index cases in order to manage the infection better (with prophylactic antibiotics for example), will identify infections that would never previously have been even suspected. 

There are now  inexpensive PCR point of care tests available for B. pertussis.

If the numbers recorded are to be interpreted accurately there is a need to record clinical whooping cough separately from B. pertussis infection.

Raw data (anonymous) from this Keyworth study along with tables and graphs can be made available on email request in order that health care workers, epidemiologists and interested others can study the detail.

graph of whooping cough notifications england and wales 1977 to 2018
Graph of whooping cough notifications per 100,000 population. England and Wales (brown) and Keyworth (blue) 1977 to 2018
whooping cough notifications England and Wales 1940 to 2018
Whooping cough notifications for England and Wales 1940 to 2018

Immunization was introduced in the UK between 1952 and 1957. 

Between 1974 and 1994 the immunization acceptance rate in England and Wales fell to 31% and then slowly rose. This was the result of a ‘scare’ about vaccine mediated brain damage that turned out to be false.

histogram of the ratio of notifications per 100,000 population keyworth versus england and wales
Histogram of the ratio of whooping cough notifications per 100,000 population keyworth versus England and Wales 1977 to 2018

This histogram is the strongest evidence that doctors ceased diagnosing whooping cough in the mid nineties and started again in the mid noughties.

It was this failure to diagnose that I recognised  in the late nineties that led to the launch of this website in 2000 to help people diagnose themselves.

The correspondence I received subsequently confirmed what I suspected, that it was a problem not just in the UK, but the USA, Canada and Australia too, and probably many others.

For many years this was the only website with sound files that enabled sufferers to recognise their own condition, and I believe this site made significant contribution to the re-recognition of the disease.

Nowadays there are many excellent websites informing people about this disease.

Numerically most visitors were and still are from the USA.

My published work on whooping cough includes the following most relevant papers briefly summarised

Outbreak of whooping cough in general practice. Jenkinson D. British Medical Journal 1978;277:896.

In 1977-8, 191 cases of whooping cough occurred in the Keyworth practice (11,800 patients then). This was at a time when the national immunization rate had fallen dramatically as a result of fears about the safety of the vaccine. There was general skepticism about the effectiveness of the vaccine. 126 cases were in the under fives. Because the numbers affected and unaffected were known it was possible to calculate the vaccine protection. This was 84% if those too young to be immunized were excluded. This was the first information of this sort for several decades and was soon confirmed in other studies. It was welcome news and helped with the decision to continue to recommend the vaccine as part of the national programme.


Whooping cough: what proportion of cases is notified in an epidemic? Jenkinson D. British Medical Journal 1983;287:185-6.

September 1982 had the greatest number of notifications in the 1982-3 epidemic in England and Wales at the time whooping cough had made a big come-back because of a low immunization rate. A postal survey asked all family doctors in Nottingham how many cases of whooping cough they had seen in September. The number (620) was compared with the number notified (116). This is 18.7%. The response rate was 83.6%. The conclusion was that even at a time of high awareness of the disease the probable real number of cases diagnosed could be at least 5 times the number notified. One might suppose that at times of low awareness, the ratio would be even higher (present times for example).

A search for subclinical infection during a small outbreak of whooping cough: implications for clinical diagnosis. Jenkinson D, Pepper JD. Journal of the Royal College of General Practitioners 1986;36:547-8. 


At the start of the 1985 outbreak in Keyworth we took pernasal swabs from all suspected cases of whooping cough and any of their contacts with any cough. 102 were taken in all. Of all these, 39 were clinically diagnosed as whooping cough and 17 of them has positive swabs. No swabs were positive in the ones without clinical whooping cough. We concluded that there was no evidence of substantial subclinical infection. We also asked about catarrhal symptoms in those with whooping cough. Only one third had catarrhal symptoms.

Duration of effectiveness of pertussis vaccine: evidence from a ten year community study. Jenkinson D. British Medical Journal 1988;296:612-4.

I was able to analyze the cases I had seen over 10 years in a way that permitted a calculation of the effectiveness of whooping cough vaccine at different ages. The results, based on 326 cases in the 1 to 7 year olds gave the following results. 1 year olds 100%, 2 year olds 96%, 3 year olds 89%, 5 year olds 52%, 6 year olds 54% and 7 year olds 46% protection.
Comment
Many assumptions were made for the calculation. For instance, it was assumed that the population moving in and out had suffered from whooping cough in the same way as the population in whom it had been counted. It also assumed that the number of missed cases was low, and equal in immunized and unimmunized subjects.
This paper was the subject of a paper by Connor Farrington in which he calculated the size of the possible errors. His arguments did not invalidate the result of my study. He showed the possible flaws inherent in working out vaccine effectiveness from such a simple model. In 2002 a fourth dose of pertussis vaccine was recommended in the UK in the preschool booster in order to increase immunity. This brought the UK more in line with other countries.

Natural course of 500 consecutive cases of whooping cough: a general practice population study. Jenkinson D. British Medical Journal 1995;310,299-302.

The average number of paroxysms was 13.5 per 24 hours. 11 in immunized, 15 in unimmunized.
The average duration was 52 days. 49 in immunized, 55 in unimmunized. The range was 2 to 164.
The more paroxysms, the longer the illness lasted.
The younger the patient, the longer it lasted.
57% vomited. (49% in immunized, 65% in unimmunized).
49% whooped, (39% in immunized, 56% in unimmunized).
11% had significant cessation of breathing (enough to go blue) 8% in immunized, 15% in unimmunized.
Females were affected slightly more often in childhood but twice as often in adulthood.
Females had more severe disease.
Swabs were positive in 25% of immunized, 52% of unimmunized.
5 patients developed pneumonia.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: