线描的医生和病人使用听诊器

百日咳的治疗

年幼的婴儿需要住院治疗,因为这对他们来说非常严重

最适合百日咳的抗生素来自大环内酯类。 红霉素,克拉霉素,阿奇霉素。 复方新诺明是第二选择。

如果您在孵育疾病时使用了这种抗生素,则可能会阻止其发展。

防止传播

百日咳的人都给予了抗生素,例如阿奇霉素。 这是为了杀死仍可能携带的百日咳博德特氏菌,从而使其难以传播给他人。 

权威网站都重复的传统观点是,三周后没有指示服用抗生素来降低感染性的迹象。 中断3周的依据是可疑的,因为患者仍可以咳嗽最多3周,偶尔5周的百日咳博德特氏菌。 

关于何时开始第1周也有一些困惑。它是疾病的开始还是咳嗽的开始? 他们是不同的,但当局混淆了两者。 看到我的博客。

如果需要消除传播的风险,给予抗生素长达5周可能更明智。 使用抗生素3天后,可以认为该个体没有感染。

最合适的抗生素来自大环内酯家族。 红霉素,克拉霉素,阿奇霉素。 复方新诺明是第二选择。 已经有 中国大环内酯耐药性的报道.

可以看到哪种抗生素和正确的剂量 练习 抗生素在百日咳中的作用 页面上发布服务提醒。

从症状开始到3周内,使用抗生素降低最终严重程度的可能性很小。

但是,对于百日咳的一般情况,没有任何可能改变病程或减轻症状的治疗方法。 无论如何,它通常都会顺其自然。 尝试从支气管扩张药,止咳药或抗生素中获益通常是徒劳的。 免疫预防是最好的策略。

尊重客观性的Cochrane组织审阅了减轻咳嗽症状的论文,没有发现尝试使用多种方法(包括类固醇和支气管扩张剂)获益的证据。 他们得出结论,需要更多和更好的研究。 在这里查看报告.

婴儿是一个例外

在患病的婴儿中,重要的是要考虑补充水分和氧合作用措施,有时还要进行通气。 此类情况显然将在医院中。 6个月以上的婴儿通常受到的影响较小,在其他情况下通常不需要采取这些措施,除非出现了诸如肺炎等并发症。 

最近对在美国接受百日咳治疗的婴儿进行的一项分析表明,使用类固醇(以前认为有帮助)与预后较差有关。 应当指出的是,在发达国家,由于大多数病例是轻度的,因此甚至不希望有1%的病例(婴儿除外)需要住院治疗。

或者发生继发感染等并发症

另一个例外是发生严重并发症时。 这也是罕见的,可能影响发达国家约1%或2%的病例。 最常见的并发症是需要标准抗生素治疗的肺炎。 

一些病人得到 继发感染 细菌性气管支气管炎引起的咳嗽和痰增多,可能会因使用抗生素而改善。

对于很小的婴儿,百日咳是一种危险的疾病 他们可能会死于被认为是由肺动脉高压引起的肺炎,呼吸衰竭和脑病。 我们有免疫程序,是为了保护婴儿,而且很有效。 

百日咳治疗的最佳权威建议。 (好)

有关百日咳治疗的更多信息。 英国权威机构卫生与临床护理卓越研究所(NICE)已发表有关百日咳的临床知识摘要。 该组织为大不列颠及北爱尔兰联合王国(约60万)的医生提供了最佳的循证管理方法。 我将此文档视为管理百日咳的黄金标准。 大多数建议可以在大多数发达国家中有效地应用,而大多数发达国家没有这种受人尊敬的压倒性权威。

新西兰卫生部为卫生专业人员提供了有关百日咳管理的极好的信息。

英格兰公共卫生局还为卫生专业人员提供了建议,该建议非常详尽,并全面介绍了管理的各个方面,并提供了参考。 这是PHE在其网站上最新的2018百日咳建议。 如果您想了解英国医生在疑似百日咳的情况下应该怎么做,所有答案都在这里。

大剂量维生素C

美国有一位特别的医生主张使用大剂量维生素C治疗咳嗽。 高质量的试用数据不支持该声明。 我收到了几位受过折磨的患者的电子邮件,这些患者报告了出色且迅速的进步。

我希望它是真实的,但是像大多数此类声明一样,您从未听说过失败或长期结果,因此仍然存在很大的问号。 我很想从有个人经验的人那里听到更多关于这种物质成功或失败的信息。

 


管理/经理

当没有有效的百日咳治疗时,剩下要做的就是管理。 对于婴儿和儿童来说,这将主要是在发作时让他们感到安慰,并保证它会很快过去,并且会没事的。 背拍将无济于事,但可能会保持和抚摸。 如果发生呕吐,则最好向前倾斜或面朝下(如果倾斜),以使呕吐物从肺部掉落。

婴儿呕吐后可能需要重新喂养

呕吐的婴儿可能需要重新喂养,年龄较大的孩子也可能需要重新喂养。 儿童百日咳会减轻体重,婴儿更严重。

婴儿不应该一个人呆着

当婴儿百日咳时,即使在晚上,也不应任其独自一人,以免发现问题。 这也适用于年龄较大的儿童,直到他们可以表明自己不想要那样,届时他们应该没有任何危险。

在适当的时间间隔进行身体检查

病人至少应接受医生检查一次,这是标准做法。 即使未诊断出这种咳嗽,也需要医生检查。 如果怀疑百日咳,请有能力的医生安排血液,鼻腔或口腔液体的检查。 

这是一种应报告的疾病,应由医生做出努力来确认。 如果不怀疑是原因,则不能期望医生会对其进行测试。 进行哪种检查将取决于医生可以使用的服务。 

再次注意我的建议,以在智能手机上捕捉发作,以帮助您的医生进行诊断

咳嗽发作时,应将患者从其他人的面前移开,否则应将自己移开。 成人通常还是这样做。 这是为了减少传输。 出门更好。

任何一般的恶化,尤其是包括发烧或呼吸困难的恶化,都需要对肺炎等并发症进行医学检查

女人很可能会发现她们在发作时会漏尿。 这只能通过使用护垫来管理,但是当百日咳消除后会消失。

避免在怀孕后期与婴儿和任何人接触

至关重要的是,在怀孕的后半段,孕妇和儿童应远离,直到她们初次注射,通常在大约4个月完成,除非被告知您不再具有传染性。


来自患者的提示

“克里斯塔贝尔的方法”。 我有很多反馈,这对很多人都有用

一名物理治疗师已通过电子邮件向我发送了我要在下面插入的一则轶事。 我收到了很多反馈,这对很多人都非常有帮助。 “我们以女儿(9岁)的名字命名了克里斯塔贝尔的以下方法,因为她指出,通过阻止自己在咳嗽之间反身鼓舞,她可以减少咳嗽的时间和暴力程度,并防止返流。 

简而言之,她会延迟呼吸,并保持尽可能长时间的呼吸,然后尝试缓慢呼吸。 这项技术可能不适用于该系列的第一个咳嗽,但根据我们的经验,似乎会减缓随后的咳嗽。 

该技术需要实践,但确实可以使患者控制身体! 由于这种方法需要患者克服自然反应,我怀疑这仅适用于较大的儿童和成人。”

声称有助于增稠液体

许多百日咳的患者发现,进食或喝某些东西会引起咳嗽痉挛。 我从英国的儿科言语和语言治疗师AH那里得到了传闻,他说某些咳嗽痉挛可能是由于液体营养从声带泄漏到气管引起的。 这种理论认为百日咳可能会导致声带无力(它肯定会引起声音改变)。 

我了解她已经发现喝酒前增稠液体可以解决这个问题。 饮用前,应使用通常可从药房获得的专有增稠剂将液体增稠至糖浆浓度。 

雀巢公司生产的“ThickenUp®Clear”就是其中一种容易获得的产品。 
如果您怀疑液体会引起咳嗽,这可能值得一试。 
2015年九月
我对此没有任何反馈,这支持了它的有用性。

将额头或脸颊放在寒冷的地方

我认识的一个人发现这阻止了发作。

评论

此页面已由审核和更新 道格拉斯·詹金森博士 17 2020月

line drawing of doctor and patient using stethoscope

Treatment of whooping cough

This is a long page and the information you seek is probably on it somewhere, even if you have to follow a link

Very young babies need treating in hospital as it is very serious for them. More detail below.

Everyone asks about antibiotics. They are commonly used but do not cure it. They may prevent it getting worse and will stop it being infectious. More detail below.

Antibiotics can prevent transmission

If taken during the incubation period an antibiotic should prevent it developing.

The bacteria that cause whooping cough are present for about 3 weeks from the start of symptoms.

Therefore antibiotics are usually prescribed in the first 3 to 4 weeks to stop it being passed on. They will not cure it or alleviate it… more in my blog about it.

The most suitable antibiotics are erythromycin, clarithromycin or azithromycin. Co-trimoxazole is a second choice. Some far eastern countries have reported resistance to erythromycin in some strains.

Which antibiotic to use and the correct dosages can be seen in the Role of antibiotics in whooping cough page .

Whooping cough is very dangerous for babies

For very young babies whooping cough is a dangerous illness. They can die from pneumonia, respiratory failure and encephalopathy thought to be caused by pulmonary hypertension resulting from the effects of the toxins produced by the bacteria.

Supportive measures with rehydration, oxygenation and sometimes ventilation are vital considerations in sick infants. Such cases would necessarily be in hospital. Babies over 6 months old are generally less seriously affected and these measures may not be required unless some complication had set in.

A recent analysis of babies with whooping cough in the USA showed that the use of steroids (previously though helpful) was associated with a worse outcome.

It is to protect babies that we have an immunisation program. It is very effective in that respect.

Some infants and older children may also be more at risk if there are other underlying medical problems.

 

In older children and adults it is unpleasant but not life threatening

For the average case of whooping cough in older children and adults there is no treatment likely to make a difference to the course of the illness or reduce the symptoms. It will generally take its course no matter what. Attempts to get benefit from bronchodilators, cough suppressants or antibiotics are generally futile. 

It should be noted that in the developed world one would not expect more than 1% of cases (with the exception of infants) to require hospitalization because most cases are mild.

The Cochrane organisation, respected for evidence based objectivity has reviewed papers on reducing cough symptoms and found no evidence of benefit from several methods that were attempted, including steroids and bronchodilators. They conclude that more and better research is needed. See the report here.

More serious if complications like secondary infection occur

Another exception to the general non-seriousness is when complications occur. This is also quite rare and probably affects about 1% or 2% of cases in the developed world. The most frequent complication is pneumonia which requires standard antibiotic treatment. 

Some patients get a secondary infection of bacterial tracheo-bronchitis causing increased cough and sputum which may improve with antibiotics. 

The best authoritative advice on the management of pertussis. (NICE)

More information on whooping cough treatment. The UK authoritative body, the Institute for Health and Clinical Care Excellence (NICE), has published a Clinical Knowledge Summary on whooping cough. This organisation reflects the best evidence based management for doctors in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (Pop. approx. 60 million). I regard this document as the gold standard for management of pertussis. Most of the advice can be applied effectively in most developed countries, most of which do not have such a respected overriding authority.

The New Zealand Department of Health has excellent information on management of pertussis for health professionals.

There is also advice for health professionals issued by Public Health England which is extremely detailed with full explanations of all aspects of management with references. This is PHE’s up to date 2018 pertussis advice  on their website. If you want to know what UK doctors should be doing in the case of suspected pertussis, all the answers are here.

High dose vitamin C

There is one particular doctor in the USA who advocates high dose vitamin C to treat the cough. The claim is not supported by good quality trial data. I have had several emails from sufferers who have tried it and who report excellent and rapid improvement.

I would like it to be true, but like most such claims, you never hear about the failures or the longer term results, so a big question-mark remains. I am keen to hear more about success or failure of this substance from people who have personal experience of it.


Management of whooping cough

When there is no effective whooping cough treatment what remains to be done is management. For babies and children this will be mainly comforting during an attack and reassurance that it will soon pass and they will be fine. Back patting is not going to help but holding and stroking might. If vomiting occurs it is good to be leaning forward or face down if reclining so vomit falls away from the lungs.

Babies may need refeeding after vomiting

Babies who vomit may need refeeding and so might older children. It is common for children to lose weight with whooping cough and is more serious for babies.

Babies should not be left alone

Babies should not be left alone when they have whooping cough, even at night, so that problems do not go undetected. This also applies to older children until they can indicate they don’t want that, by which point they should be out of any danger.

Medical checks at appropriate intervals

It should be standard practice for sufferers to be checked by a doctor at least once. Even if it is not diagnosed, such a bad cough  needs a doctor’s examination. A competent doctor will arrange for some investigation of blood, or nasal, or oral fluid if whooping cough is suspected. 

It is a notifiable disease and efforts should be made by the doctor to confirm it. You cannot expect a doctor to test for it if it is not suspected to be the cause. Which test is done will depend on the service available to the doctor. 

Note again my advice to capture a paroxysm on your smartphone to assist your doctor with diagnosis

Sufferers should be removed from the presence of other people when they have an attack of coughing or they should remove themselves. Adults generally do that anyway. This is to reduce transmission. Going outside is even better.

Any general deterioration, particularly if it includes fever or breathlessness needs a medical check for complications such as pneumonia

Women may well find they leak urine during an attack. This can only be managed by using pads but will clear up when the whooping cough has cleared.

Avoid contact with babies and anyone in late pregnancy

It is vital to keep away from pregnant women in the last half of pregnancy and from children until they have had their primary shots, usually finished at about 4 months, unless you have been told you are no longer infectious.


Tips from patients

‘Christabel’s Method’. I have had lots of feedback that this has been useful to many people

A physiotherapist has emailed me an anecdote that I am inserting below. I have had lots of feedback that this is very helpful for many people. “We have named the following technique Christabel’s method after my daughter (9) as she noted that by attempting to stop herself from inspiring reflexively between coughs she could reduce the length and the violence of the cough and prevent reflux. 

Simply put she delays herself breathing in and holds what breath she has left for as long as possible then tries to breath slowly. This technique may not work on the first cough of the series but in our experience appears to slow down subsequent coughs. 

The techniques requires practice but does allow the patient some control back in their bodies! As this method requires the patient to overcome their natural reactions I suspect this is only suitable for older children and adults.”

Thickening liquids claimed to help

Many sufferers of whooping cough find that eating or drinking certain things provokes a coughing spasm. I have been passed anecdotal information from A.H., a paediatric speech and language therapist in the UK who has suggested that some coughing spasms may be due to liquid nourishment leaking past the vocal cords into the windpipe. The theory being that whooping cough might be causing some weakness of the vocal cords (it certainly can cause voice changes). 

I understand that she has found that thickening liquids before drinking can help this problem. Liquids should be thickened to the consistency of syrup before drinking, using a proprietary thickening agent that can usually be obtained from a pharmacy. 

One such product that should be easily available is ‘ThickenUp® Clear’, made by Nestle. 
If you suspect liquids are provoking some coughing, this is probably worth a try. 
September 2015
I have had no feedback on this which has supported its usefulness.

Placing forehead or cheek against something cold

One person I know found this stopped a paroxysm coming on.

Review

This page has been reviewed and updated by Dr Douglas Jenkinson 26 November 2020