胸部CT显示大叶性肺炎
胸部CT显示大叶性肺炎

百日咳的并发症

婴儿在初次免疫之前很可能会发生并发症(通常在3个月内注射4针),即使有最好的医疗护理,也有1例中有100例致命。 在最初的几年中,即使接受免疫接种的儿童也可能患重病。

返回首页查看百日咳概述

我写了一本书– 了解更多

以下内容适用于没有长期影响的大龄儿童和成人

百日咳有时会导致大龄儿童和成人的肺炎并发症。

百日咳不会对肺造成长期损害。

可能会出现皮肤挫伤和肋骨破裂。 疝气也可能导致.

压力性尿失禁(尿液漏出)在咳嗽痉挛的女性中很常见。 这只是暂时的。

******************************************

只有少数人因百日咳而出现并发症。 根据我的经验,大约1%的临床诊断病例。 如果仅计算医院病例或实验室证实的病例(将是更严重的病例),则有并发症的比例更大。 但是,只有计算所有发生的情况,您才能获得真实的眼光。

这是许多公开发表的数字引起误解的地方,可能使您相信百日咳的并发症发生率很高。 由于百日咳没有得到人们的认可,很多时候官方数字倾向于夸大病情,低估了发病率(病例数)。

转到症状页面查看声音和视频

每1人中就有100人患上肺炎

在我发表的一项针对500年来英国村庄连续20例病例的研究中,只有十分之一的人出现了严重的并发症,例如肺炎。 NHS肺炎网页

很小的婴儿会死于百日咳(在拥有先进护理的发达国家中,大约每1名婴儿中就有100名)

最严重的并发症是死亡。 除了在婴儿身上,这种疾病比某些人更难以忍受,这种情况很少见。 在婴儿中,除肺炎外,它还可导致脑病引起的肺动脉高压,呼吸衰竭,抽搐和昏迷。

据认为,一些非常年轻的婴儿完全不咳嗽,只是停止呼吸。

通常会暂时停止呼吸 after 一阵咳嗽。 在英国,每100个孩子中有一个在六个月以下就死了。 在年龄较大的儿童中,死亡非常罕见,大约为1万例。 在不发达国家,死亡率要高得多。

通常会描述一些轻微的并发症,但通常仅在最严重的情况下才会发生。 这些是; 眼白出血(结膜下出血),皮肤上的血斑(pe病),舌根韧带撕裂和脐疝。

所有这些都是由于血液充血或咳嗽,呕吐和呕吐引起的。 如果您观看视频并收听声音文件, 症状页面 您将了解严重程度如何导致这些创伤性影响。

教科书常常给人误解性的并发症图片

所有这些东西在教科书中都有描述,阅读它们会给人以非常普遍的印象。 以我的经验,它们并不常见。 (在我的论文中描述了连续500个案例。)

因百日咳而晕倒(咳嗽晕厥)

这是相对常见的,尤其是在成年人中。 任何咳嗽都会使某些人晕倒,但由于严重而更容易百日咳。 有一个有趣且有用的博客。 (在新标签页中打开)。

阵发性晕厥后受伤

有些人会发作阵发性昏厥,并可能做出不合时宜的抽搐动作。 他们可能不记得微弱的人,但与真实的人不同,他们通常会记住导致这种情况的事件。

婴儿猝死综合症

怀疑未经诊断的百日咳可能是某些婴儿猝死综合症(SIDS)的原因。 这种情况现在发生的时间可能比过去少了,因为百日咳已被认为是原因,并且现在可以通过测试更容易地检测出它。

没有长期影响

百日咳不会对肺造成长期损害。 (病情严重的年幼婴儿可能是一个例外)。

几年前,人们认为百日咳会导致支气管扩张,在这种情况下,肺中的主要空气通道会变大和变形。 这会使痰积聚和溃烂,从而使患者产生慢性咳嗽,并易患更严重的肺部感染和全身虚弱。 大多数支气管扩张病例可能不是由百日咳本身引起的,而是由肺炎引起的。 我不知道任何证据表明单纯的百日咳会引起支气管扩张。

不会引起哮喘。 但是哮喘病患者更容易百日咳

百日咳的人比没有百日咳的人多。 百日咳 不会引起哮喘。 哮喘患者更容易患上哮喘。

语音变化

许多患者发现他们百日咳后无法唱歌或长时间嘶哑。 它通常会恢复,但可能需要很长时间。 有时似乎是永久的。

呼吸困难

喘息不是咳嗽发作之间百日咳的特征。 我已经在少数患者中报告了有关此投诉的报道,并且没有发现原因。 它在阵发性阶段已发展并持续数周。 我很想听听任何经历过类似事情的人。

语音更改长期以来被认为是一种并发症。 下面的信是1932年来自耳鼻喉科专家的。

他还使我们意识到百日咳一直被认为是在成年人中发生的。 这封信是在人们未进行百日咳疫苗免疫之前写的。

百日咳的人会沙哑或注意到他们的声音改变。 歌手可能会发现自己无法像以前一样唱歌。 通常在咳嗽时会自行解决,但偶尔似乎声音无法完全恢复。 Genny DiStasio在旧杂志上发现了一封信(下图)(Dan McKenzie博士,1932年47月,《喉科学与耳科学杂志》,第8卷,第546期,第XNUMX页),似乎暗示这是免疫前几天的常识。

丹·麦肯齐(Dan McKenzie)关于百日咳的声音变化的信(1932年)
丹·麦肯齐(Dan McKenzie)关于百日咳的声音变化的信(1932年)
评论

此页面已由审核和更新 道格拉斯·詹金森博士 13 2020月

CT scan of thorax showing lobar pneumonia
CT scan of thorax showing lobar pneumonia

Complications of whooping cough

Complications are more likely in babies under 4 months.

Whooping cough can lead to pneumonia occasionally in older children and adults.

Whooping cough does not cause long term lung damage. 

Bruising in the skin and cracked rib can happen, also hernias

Only a small number get complications from whooping cough. About 1% of clinically diagnosed cases in my experience. Of course, if you only count hospital cases or laboratory proven cases, (which are going to be the more severe cases,)  then the proportion of those with complications is greater. But you can only get a true perspective if ALL cases that occur are counted.

This is where many published figures are misleading and  may lead you to believe that whooping cough has a high rate of complications. Because whooping cough goes unrecognised much of the time official figures tend to exaggerate the severity and underestimate the incidence (the number of cases).

1 in 100 gets pneumonia.

In my published study of 500 consecutive cases in an English village over 20 years, only 1 in 100 developed significant complications such as pneumonia. NHS website page on pneumonia

Very young babies can die of whooping cough (1 in 100 approximately in developed countries).

The worst complication is death. This is rare except in young babies for whom it is a more exhausting illness than some can stand. In babies it can lead to respiratory failure, convulsions and coma from encephalopathy. 

 It is thought that some very young babies who get it, do not cough at all, but simply stop breathing.

 Stopping breathing usually comes after a bout of coughing. In the United Kingdom one child in 100 who gets it under the age of six months dies from it. In older children death is very rare, perhaps 1 in 200,000 cases. In the underdeveloped world, the mortality is vastly greater.

There are minor complications that are often described but usually occur only in the most severe cases. These are; bleeding over the white of the eye (subconjunctival haemorrhage), blood spots in the skin (petechiae), tearing of the ligament at the base of the tongue and umbilical hernia. 

All these are caused by congestion of blood or the strain of coughing, retching and vomiting. If you watch the videos and listen to the sound files on the symptoms page you will understand how the severity can cause these traumatic effects.

Textbooks often give misleadingly exaggerated pictures of complications. 

All these things are described in textbooks and reading them gives the impression they are very common.

Although I know these things do occur, none of my patients (in my family practice) has yet, to my knowledge, developed any of these congestion caused complications. I have seen pictures of them in the emails that people have sent me over the years.

Injury from fainting after a paroxysm.

Some people faint with paroxysms and may make involuntary jerking movements resembling a fit. They may have no recollection of the faint, but unlike a true fit, they will usually remember the events leading up to it.

Sudden infant death syndrome.

It is suspected that undiagnosed whooping cough could possibly be the cause of some  cases of sudden infant death syndrome  (SIDS). This probably happens less now than in the past, since whooping cough is now recognised as a cause, and tests are now available to detect it more easily.

No long term effects.

Whooping cough does not cause long term lung damage. (Young babies who have been very ill with it might may be an exception).

Some years ago people thought that whooping cough led to bronchiectasis, a condition in which the main air passages in the lungs become enlarged and distorted. This allows sputum to accumulate and fester, causing the sufferer to have a chronic productive cough and susceptibility to more severe lung infections and general debility. Most cases of bronchiectasis have probably not been caused by whooping cough, but by previous pneumonia. I do not know of any evidence that uncomplicated whooping cough causes bronchiectasis.

Does not cause asthma. But asthmatics are more susceptible to whooping cough.

More people who have whooping cough have asthma than those who have not had whooping cough. Whooping cough does not cause asthma.  It just so happens that people with asthma are more susceptible to it.

Voice changes been recognised as a complication for a long time. The letter below is from an ENT specialist in 1932.
He also makes us realise whooping cough has always been recognised to occur in adults. This letter was written long before there was any immunization against whooping cough.
 

A few people with whooping cough become hoarse or notice their voice changes. Singers may find they cannot sing as before. This usually resolves itself as the cough goes but occasionally it seems that the voice does not fully recover. Genny DiStasio found a letter (below) in an old journal (Dr. Dan McKenzie, August 1932, Journal of Laryngology and Otology, Volume 47, Issue 8, p. 546) that seems to suggest it was common knowledge in the days before immunization. 

Letter from Dan McKenzie about voice change in whooping cough 1932
Letter from Dan McKenzie about voice change in whooping cough 1932
Reviewed

This page has been reviewed and updated by Dr Douglas Jenkinson 7 October 2019

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: